Compare

A Logitech Options Plus alternative that works with any mouse

Updated 2026-10-31 · by the mouzeclick team · Also in Español, Português (Brasil), Bahasa Indonesia

Logi Options+ is Logitech's app for its own mice, keyboards and MX Creative Console: per-app buttons, gestures and the Actions Ring. If your mouse isn't a Logitech, or you want tools that run inside Premiere Pro and After Effects, mouzeclick does that job on any mouse, on Windows 10 and 11 and macOS 12 or newer. On an MX mouse used mainly for Premiere, Options+ may be all you need.

  • Logi Options+ customises supported Logitech devices; Windows 10 or later, macOS 14 or later; no price stated on its page
  • Options+ names Premiere Pro among its example app presets; After Effects isn't named on its page (31 Oct 2026)
  • mouzeclick: any brand of mouse, up to five buttons plus scroll and tilt, eleven slots per button, no driver
  • Three wheels: Options (48 favourites per app), Orbit (up to 12 apps), Tool wheel (112 Premiere Pro or 114 After Effects tools)
  • One plan, $25 a month or $249 a year, 3-day trial with no card

What does Logi Options+ do?

It is Logitech's customisation app for its supported devices: mice, keyboards, webcams, lights, touchpads, presentation remotes and the MX Creative Console. For an editor with a Logitech mouse, six parts matter.

  • App-specific settings. Use Logitech's presets or define your own for the apps you use most. Its examples are Chrome, Edge, Safari, Zoom, Word, PowerPoint, Excel, Photoshop, Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro and Teams.
  • Gestures. Assign gestures to a mouse button: hold it and move up, down, left or right.
  • Smart Actions. Several tasks on one click or keystroke; Logitech calls it "like macros with a little magic".
  • Actions Ring. A customisable on-screen overlay that puts tools and shortcuts at your cursor.
  • Marketplace. Plug-ins, profiles and icon packs.
  • Device settings. Pointer and scroll speed, scroll direction, battery levels, Easy-Switch and Flow between computers, and haptic feedback, which for now only the MX Master 4 has.

Downloads are offered for Windows 10 or later and macOS 14 or later. Logitech's page offers it as a download and doesn't state a price.

Does Logi Options+ work with a mouse that isn't a Logitech?

Not according to Logitech's page. Logitech describes Options+ as the app that customises your supported devices, its app-specific settings assign actions to Logitech devices, and every supported-device list on its page is Logitech hardware. If you edit on a Razer, a Corsair, a no-name five-button mouse or the trackball your studio provides, Options+ isn't built for it.

That is the gap mouzeclick fills. It works with any mouse your computer sees, wired, wireless or Bluetooth, up to five standard buttons plus scroll and tilt, with no driver. The first run asks you to press each button once and builds the settings page around the buttons it actually finds. It changes what your buttons do and never touches DPI, polling rate, lighting or firmware, so your mouse maker's own app can stay installed for those.

Why look for a Logitech Options Plus alternative?

Because Options+ is built around Logitech hardware, and an editor's setup often isn't. Four reasons stand out.

  • Mixed mice. A Logitech at home, something else at the studio or on the laptop. One app that works on all of them saves you learning two.
  • After Effects. Options+ names Premiere Pro among its example presets but not After Effects, so motion designers may well be building from scratch.
  • Older Macs. Options+ downloads list macOS 14 or later. mouzeclick runs on macOS 12 or newer.
  • More than shortcuts. Options+ sends shortcuts and actions. mouzeclick also runs tools inside Premiere Pro and After Effects through a small panel, such as Unnest, label colours or Fill frame from a flick of the Tool wheel.

If none of those apply to you, read the section on when Options+ is enough before you change anything.

How does a Logitech Options Plus alternative compare, feature by feature?

Both map buttons per app and both put a ring of actions at your cursor; the differences are which mice, which Macs and how far into Premiere and After Effects each one reaches. As each page stated on 31 October 2026.

Logi Options+mouzeclick
Price as shownNot stated; offered as a download$25 a month or $249 a year; 3-day trial, no card
DevicesSupported Logitech mice, keyboards and other devicesAny mouse your computer sees
Windows / MacWindows 10+, macOS 14+Windows 10 and 11, macOS 12+
Per-app buttonsYes; Premiere Pro named among its presetsYes; ready-made profiles for Premiere Pro, After Effects, Photoshop, DaVinci Resolve and CapCut
GesturesHold a button and move four waysHold a button and move four ways, chords, hold-and-scroll; eleven slots per button
MacrosSmart ActionsMacro recorder for keys, clicks, waits and typed text
On-screen ringActions RingOptions wheel, Orbit switch and Tool wheel
Inside Premiere Pro and After EffectsShortcuts and Marketplace plug-insTool wheels that run commands through a panel; Studio; 22 extensions
Pointer speed, battery, hapticsYes (haptics on the MX Master 4 only)No; it leaves the mouse hardware alone
Several computersEasy-Switch and FlowCloud sync of your setup (Windows only); share a setup as a link
InternetNot statedNeeded while it runs

How does the Actions Ring compare with mouzeclick's wheels?

The Actions Ring is one customisable overlay; mouzeclick has three wheels with different jobs. Logitech describes it as a customisable on-screen overlay that puts your favourite tools and shortcuts at the tip of your cursor. Its pages tie it to MX mice and the MX Creative Console, and the MX Master 4 page features it.

  • Options wheel (F8). 48 favourites per app on three rings of 12, 16 and 20. The middle button steps to the next ring. Keys, macros, typed text, launches and your own shortcuts all fit.
  • Orbit switch (F9). Up to 12 open apps on one ring; rest on one to see its windows, or a browser's tabs.
  • Tool wheel (F10, or a held right button). 112 Premiere Pro tools in 12 segments, or 114 After Effects tools in 13 groups with four starting layouts. The hold delay is yours, 80 to 600 ms, so a quick right-click stays a right-click.

The Options wheel and Orbit switch open from any key or mouse button you choose; on a MacBook keyboard the Options and Orbit wheels use Fn + F8 and Fn + F9. The difference that matters most in an edit is the Tool wheel: its tools run through a panel inside Premiere and After Effects, so they can do jobs no keyboard shortcut does. Logitech's pages we read don't say which Premiere Pro or After Effects actions the Actions Ring can hold, so we won't guess. The After Effects radial menu guide shows the wheel in use.

Does Logi Options+ support Premiere Pro and After Effects?

Premiere Pro, yes; After Effects isn't named on its page. Options+ names Premiere Pro among its example apps with preset settings, and lets you define settings for your other most-used apps, which is how you'd set up After Effects if it has no preset in your copy.

On the mouzeclick side both editors come ready:

  • Premiere Pro. A ready profile, a Premiere shortcut library to pick from, the 112-tool Tool wheel, Search effects, the Toolbar, the Studio panel with a silence remover and timeline tools, and 8 extensions. Captions and Retakes are Windows only. The full list is on the Premiere Pro tools page.
  • After Effects. A ready profile, the 114-tool After Effects wheel, Search effects with After Effects' own categories, and 15 extensions; mouzekit alone has 28 tools in 7 groups. The extensions page lists them all.
  • On Windows. The two mouzeclick workspaces add one panel in each app, with 159 text animation and expression presets and 81 UI templates in After Effects and 44 ready easing curves in both.

For which Premiere keys to put on which buttons, the Premiere Pro mouse shortcuts guide has a table with Windows and Mac defaults.

When is Logi Options+ enough?

When you own a Logitech MX mouse, edit mostly in Premiere Pro, and want buttons and gestures to change per app. Options+ does that, comes from the company that made your mouse, and Logitech doesn't list a price for it. Try it properly first. Options+ is the better pick if:

  • Your mouse is a supported Logitech and you don't plan to edit on anything else.
  • You use Easy-Switch or Flow to move between computers, or want haptic feedback on an MX Master 4.
  • You want pointer speed, scroll speed and battery in the same app as your buttons.
  • You want a setup with no subscription.
  • You often work offline. mouzeclick needs an internet connection while it runs; if it drops, the shortcuts pause and the mouse behaves normally.

mouzeclick earns its place when you switch between mouse brands, work in After Effects, run macOS 12 or 13, or want the Tool wheels and panels inside the editors.

Can you run Options+ and mouzeclick on the same Logitech mouse?

Yes, if each button belongs to one app. If both apps act on the same button, one press does two things.

  1. Decide the split. A sensible one: Options+ keeps pointer and scroll speed, battery, Easy-Switch, Flow and haptics; mouzeclick takes the button actions in your editors.
  2. Free the buttons. In Options+, give the buttons you're handing over a plain action (their normal click, back or forward) in your editors, so only mouzeclick reacts to them.
  3. Calibrate mouzeclick. Press each button once on first run. mouzeclick uses up to five standard buttons plus scroll and tilt. Any other control on your Logitech mouse stays with Options+.
  4. Test it. The live input check shows where each press went. If a press still triggers two things, switch it off in one of the apps.

How do you move an Options+ setup to mouzeclick?

Write down what each button and gesture does in Premiere today, then rebuild it in the same places. One sitting is enough.

  1. Start the trial. 3 days, no card; the key arrives by email. No driver to install.
  2. Pick your editor on first run so its buttons are set up for you, or skip and start blank.
  3. Buttons. Click a button and choose from the shortcut library, or type any key combination as a custom shortcut.
  4. Gestures. Pick the gesture button (a side button, the wheel click, or the left or right button) and fill up, down, left and right. An editing preset fills empty directions in one press: up plays, down splits, left undoes, right steps one frame forward.
  5. Smart Actions to macros. Press Record, do the steps once in the editor, press Esc twice.
  6. Actions Ring to the Options wheel. Put the commands you reach for ten times a day on its first ring.
  7. Install the Premiere bridge or After Effects bridge from the Tool wheel page and restart the editor, so the Tool wheel can run commands inside it. Keep mouzeclick running while you edit.

Each app keeps its own buttons, so the same back button can cut in Premiere and go back a page in your browser.

Which works on older Macs and on Windows?

mouzeclick reaches further back on the Mac. Options+ downloads are listed for Windows 10 or later and macOS 14 or later, and the MX Master 4 page says it requires the Options+ app and lists Windows 11 with the end-of-March 2026 update or later. mouzeclick runs on Windows 10 and 11 and on macOS 12 or newer, Apple Silicon and Intel.

On a Mac, mouzeclick's buttons, gestures, macros, all three wheels, the Tool wheels and the extensions work. The two workspaces, auto, styled and Hinglish captions, Retakes, cloud sync and in-app updates are Windows only for now. Apple hasn't notarized the app yet, so macOS asks you to allow it once in Privacy & Security, and it needs the Accessibility and Input Monitoring permissions. The Mac page has the steps, and the pricing section shows the plan in your currency.

Get per-app buttons, gestures and wheels on any mouse, free for 3 days. One plan with everything included, $25 a month, or $249 for a year.

See the price

Questions people ask

Does Logi Options+ work with After Effects?

Options+ supports app-specific settings, but its page names Premiere Pro, not After Effects, among its example presets, so expect to build After Effects' buttons yourself. mouzeclick has a ready After Effects profile and a 114-tool After Effects Tool wheel in 13 groups, with four layouts to start from.

Can I use the Actions Ring in Premiere Pro?

Logitech doesn't say. Its pages describe the Actions Ring as a customisable overlay of your favourite tools and shortcuts at the cursor, and Options+ names Premiere Pro among its app presets, but neither spells out which Premiere actions the ring holds. Check inside Options+ on your own MX mouse before you plan around it.

Is Logi Options+ free?

Logitech's Options+ page offers it as a download for Windows and macOS and doesn't state a price; it's the app Logitech's own product pages send you to for setup. mouzeclick is a paid plan, $25 a month or $249 a year, after a 3-day trial with no card.

Do I need Logi Options+ for an MX Master 4?

Logitech's MX Master 4 page says it requires the Logi Options+ app, and the haptic feedback is set up there. You can still use mouzeclick for button actions in your editors, as long as each button is handled by only one of the two apps.

Will mouzeclick work with my Logitech MX Master?

Yes, as with any mouse your computer sees: mouzeclick uses up to five standard buttons plus scroll and tilt. The first run asks you to press each button once and shows which ones it found. Any other control on the mouse stays with Options+.

Does mouzeclick change pointer speed or DPI?

No. It changes what your buttons do and never touches DPI, polling rate, lighting or firmware. Keep Options+, or your mouse maker's app, for pointer speed, scroll speed and battery. If you quit mouzeclick or your plan ends, the mouse works as a normal mouse again.

What can I use instead of Options+ on a Razer or Corsair mouse?

The maker's own app maps buttons for its own mice. For per-app editing setups across any brand, mouzeclick works with any mouse your computer sees and adds gestures, chords and three wheels, plus tools inside Premiere Pro and After Effects. Keep the maker's app for lighting and DPI.

Is mouzeclick an alternative to the MX Creative Console too?

Partly. It replaces keys and pages with mouse buttons and wheels, but it has no dials. If you want a physical dial for colour, a console still helps. The Loupedeck alternative page compares the Creative Console with TourBox and the Stream Deck +, and the TourBox alternative page covers dials in depth.

Sources

Checked on 2026-10-31. Prices and features change: each link goes to the maker's own page.

  1. Logitech: Logi Options+ (supported devices, app-specific presets, gestures, Smart Actions, Actions Ring, haptics, OS), checked 31 Oct 2026
  2. Logitech MX Master 4: requires Logi Options+, Actions Ring, haptic feedback, Windows 11 compatibility (re-checked 31 Oct 2026)
  3. Logitech MX Creative Console: a dialpad and keypad, set up through Logi Options+